Let’s Get To The Point

The real reason I tell you all this is not because I want you to understand my dog.  It’s because I want you to understand how I became an adult.  Yes, I was 26 years old when I got Daisy, but I had always had a safety net.  I was a student, an intern, a responsibility-free zone.  Bringing Daisy into my life was the first decision I made that defined the course of my adult life.

IMG_1682
Daisy forced me to redefine my romantic relationship, change my way of life, gave me an excuse to stay home, and helped me make friends.  Caring for Daisy taught me how to care for my own body.  I made sure she exercised, slept, ate balanced foods, had the right balance of medicine to take care of her crazy anxiety.  If I was going to do that for her, didn’t I deserve to do it for me, too?
Long hikes are not only good for Daisy, they're good for humans too!  Spiritually and physically!
Long hikes are not only good for Daisy, they’re good for humans too! Spiritually and physically!
There are a lot of blogs out there about being a mom.  About healthy living.  About being a wife.  About being a servant of a higher power.  This is not those blogs.  This blog is about being an adult in a new world where adulthood looks different than it did twenty years ago, and the choices we make to navigate that new world.  It’s also about small triumphs and happy moments.  And it’s about the day-to-day life of a person who works, lives, and eats.
I drink wine with my best friend.  More than probably recommended with the surgeon general.
I drink wine with my best friend. More than probably recommended by the surgeon general.  There are all kinds of late-20s lives.
But make no mistake.  Miss Daisy is driving.  Driving my decisions, driving me to drink, driving me to an early grave, and driving me crazy.  So there will be plenty of her too.

Hiking at Miami Fort
This mustached face changed my life. Admit it. You want to kiss it a little bit. It’s a pretty cute face.
Leave a Reply

